NickEaton.net


Officially unemployed, officially up-in-the-air
October 26, 2008, 2:39 pm
Filed under: Down Time, Job Search, Sea Change

I’ve applied to a few more jobs since my last post, which should bring the total up to about 17. Not sure, to tell you the truth. But I know I’ve gotten some advice from former coworkers to slow it down a bit, if I actually want to get unemployment benefits.

Which brings me to my point — unemployment, so far, is like a long weekend. Your days are free, you can wake up as late as you want, you can sit around reading the newspaper. But the entire time you feel like you should be doing something more constructive.

But what? Apply for jobs? I’m running out of ones that truly interest me, and I’m waiting to hear back from the others to which I applied. So far I’ve heard back from one, and it has little to do with journalism. I could search for more jobs online, but I’d be starting to scrape the bottom of the barrel and, frankly, it’s starting to get a little depressing.

Another former coworker told me that when she was laid off last year, she applied to nearly 100 jobs listed on JournalismJobs.com and heard back from only two. Wonderful news.

And you know that ominous feeling during weekends, the one where you know it’s going to come to an end, like today’s Saturday afternoon and you know Monday morning’s right around the corner? Well, unemployment has that feeling, but it’s unfounded. Sure, unemployment will end, but when? It’s like a weekend you keep thinking will end but never does.

Oh, maybe I’m starting to get a little too far ahead of myself. I’ve only been officially off the job for a few days, since Wednesday. It’s not like it’s been a week or two weeks or a month. Hopefully, it won’t come to that. Anyway, everything is up in the air these days. Where I’ll be a month from now, I don’t know.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You will find gainful employment; you are very talented. Enjoy your chance to relax!

Comment by Annette

You will never find a job. You are completely useless. And that constant feeling of impending doom will never go away.

Sorry — Anne just sounded too perky.

Give ’em hell. I’ll talk to you soon.

Comment by jonesdaily

Perhaps a stupid question — did your friend who applied to 100 jobs always use the same cover letter? I’ve found responses are much more likely when I tweak my cover letter to fit that specific company.

I also usually try to track someone down in the newsroom to talk to whom I have a connection with through someone else. “Sorry to bother you, but Such-and-So said you might be able to help me…”

Keep it up. Journalists with the range of experience you have are in high demand.

Comment by thecopyeditorsays




Leave a Reply

