NickEaton.net


Commitment to the story
June 22, 2008, 10:57 pm
Filed under: Adventure, Video

A little mud never hurt anyone.

Sprint BoatOK, the headline is a little tongue-in-cheek. But I did get splashed in a wash of mudwater at the sprint boat races in St. John, Wash. Tucked into a small town in the middle of the Palouse is Webb’s Slough, a water race course carved out in the middle of a field. People tow their V8-powered boats and race around at, oh, 70 mph, kicking up waves of water at every turn and, every once and a while, skidding over the land.

I was there shooting footage for my next video story, which I’m planning on editing Tuesday and posting on the S-R site ASAP. (I’ll post it here, too.) Lisa came with me on this little adventure and documented the entire thing.

The people I talked to said driving the boats was a huge adrenaline rush. If you want to get a little experience of it, here’s a video on YouTube. (Hopefully mine will be better.) Apparently, Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Northwest are the only areas in the world people race sprint boats through courses like this.

Anyway, keep on the lookout for my video this week.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Boats speeding through … a grass field? June 25, 2008, 6:50 pm Filed under: Video I posted a few days ago about the sprint boat races Lisa and I went to Saturday. Well, I was planning to […]

Pingback by Boats speeding through … a grass field? « Stories on the run




Leave a Reply

