NickEaton.net


New gear, in theory
June 3, 2008, 8:52 pm
Filed under: Technology, Video

Since getting back to the Spokesman newsroom, I’ve been talking with our multimedia guys a lot about my new video-priority job. The idea is that I will get new, better equipment so my videos can be of higher visual quality. And to give me some street credit.

Have you seen what I’ve been toting around to basketball games and sporting events? This little guy looks ridiculous next to a huge TV camera.

Approximate scaling.

Well, soon I should be getting a sleek, high-def, microphone-friendly Sony A1U, shown below. The only drawback is that it uses tapes, unlike my current consumer-grade camcorder. So, for the breaking news stuff I do, I’ll still be using the little guy.

Isn’t it beautiful?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] August 6, 2008, 11:20 am Filed under: Football, Technology, Video Last week I got my hands on my new gear, a Sony A1U camera with the XLR adapter. I also got a wireless lav mic, but I haven’t used it […]

Pingback by New video camera, new videos « Stories on the run




Leave a Reply

