NickEaton.net


Frustrating nothingness
April 24, 2008, 10:50 am
Filed under: Down Time

I suppose it should feel nice, and I shouldn’t be complaining, but I have been so not-busy this week it’s frustrating.

On Monday, I got a taste of the good ol’ breaking news rush (Glenn Johnson is home from the hospital and fine, by the way), and I think that set the tone for my week. Unfortunately, the rest of this week has not lived up to Monday’s promise.

I took the day off Tuesday, calling it my second weekend day because I worked on Saturday (my birthday). That’s fine.

But Wednesday, argh. I wanted to work, but it just wouldn’t happen. I tried to schedule interviews with WSU athletics, but they didn’t even get back to me until about 4 p.m. So, I ended up looking at Spokane apartments on Craigslist.

That was the most productive thing I did.

Today, on the other hand, has been different so far. I hope it stays this way. Before the time I even got up Wednesday (10:30 a.m.), I have already taken my car to two shops (Jerry’s Auto Repair and Les Schwab) for some residual rattles from last week’s repairs, I have gotten a haircut at Fantastic Sam’s, and I have re-ordered contact lenses.

I have also set up my two athletics appointments, though they aren’t this week — attending rowing practice on Monday and interviewing the new volleyball coach May 1.

But, honestly, it’s not like I’m in an energetic newsroom being part of the day’s excitement — whatever that may be. It’s weeks like this I’m looking forward to moving back to Spokane.

I may not be envious of Lisa’s current extreme overworkedness (that’s not a word), but I’m sitting here bored. I wouldn’t mind some sort of balance between the two.

But, I guess it is the slow season for sports reporting.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hey, I have an idea for your boredom … use the time to call and catch up with old friends. (clearing voice).

Comment by Annette




Leave a Reply

