NickEaton.net


Football starts trickling in
March 8, 2008, 12:20 pm
Filed under: Football

After I took the picture below, I actually started working. Well, I had been working all day, but as Lisa pointed out, my work involves one of the most fun activities she did all week.

Finally getting my hands on the spring football prospectus at about 4:30 p.m., I had very limited time to get a hold of any coaches — especially on a Friday. I knew I probably wouldn’t be able to talk to head coach Paul Wulff, so I wandered through Bohler Gym to the football office. There, I talked with a very candid assistant, who told me all I needed to know. But I couldn’t really use him as a source because he’s not on the coaching staff.

The assistant told me he’d let me talk to tight ends coach Rich Rasmussen on one condition: I tell him whether what he told me was close to what Rich tells me. (It was.) So Rich was my source on the spring football story, and the assitant may become a great inside source. (Which is precisely why I am not writing his name.)

So, it starts. I’m getting to know the football staff. Early Friday (10 a.m. is early for me), football SID Bill Stevens introduced me to all the football staff (minus two coaches) and some of the support folks in the office. Most of the coaches are new, and I’m new, so I think this will be a smooth transition.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

