NickEaton.net


The day inbetween
February 15, 2008, 3:57 pm
Filed under: Down Time

EUGENE, Ore. — Some of you may have asked yourself, “What does a sportswriter do between road games?” Most of you probably haven’t, but I’ll answer the question anyway. Not much. At 11:30 a.m., Vince Grippi and I drove to McArthur Court (or “The Pit”) on the University of Oregon campus to watch the Cougars practice. It was a light day as they prepared for their game against Oregon tomorrow night.

After practice I chatted with Robbie Cowgill, with whom I had an honors class in fall 2006. Having already painstakingly written my Honors Thesis, and knowing he probably hasn’t had much time to write his, I asked him about it. Yeah, he hasn’t started yet. Just the same as me last year. The catch? He’s only taking three credits this semester (the Honors Thesis) and is spending the rest of his time on the court. That sounds pretty nice. (For those of you who want to know, Robbie is writing his thesis on the possibilities of the politicization of basketball — like how the Olympics have become intertwined with international politics in the past. Surprise! Basketball!)

Now I’m sitting, once again, in my hotel room after eating a sandwich from the Arby’s in the mall next door. (I saw Caleb Forrest also wandering around the food court.) At 5 p.m., Todd Milles (Tacoma News Tribune), Bud Withers (Seattle Times), Vince and I will be going somewhere for dinner before driving to a high school basketball game in Eugene. One of WSU’s recruits is playing in town this evening.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

