NickEaton.net


Hello from Eugene
February 14, 2008, 6:04 am
Filed under: Travel

EUGENE, Ore. — I’d been toying with the idea of starting a blog for a few weeks, ever since a few close friends started ones that have roped me in. So I’m breaking down — or catching up. And I figured now would be a good time to start — sitting alone in a cold hotel room in Eugene, Ore., after spending most of my day being physically abused by Horizon Airlines.

As a sportswriter with a beat, I will be traveling a lot in the coming months. Or the coming years. Or however long it takes. This is my first business trip for The Spokesman-Review, covering the Washington State men’s basketball team at its road games against Oregon State and Oregon. Hence my current presence in the land of no sales tax. (I never seem to remember that, realizing it when I bought a $2-even travel-size tube of toothpaste in the hotel lobby.)

I had to toss my newly purchased tube of Crest while in the security line at Spokane International. I’ll just break down the travel day of hell:

  • 8 a.m. – Leave Pullman to drive to Spokane.
  • 9:30 a.m. – Settle into my morning Spokesman-Review in the airport terminal, ready to board my flight to Portland (with connection to Eugene) at 11:10 a.m.
  • 10:30 a.m. – Buy a New York Times after exhausting the S-R and the USAToday sports section.
  • 11:10 a.m. – Horizon desk worker announces our plane has maintenance issues and will be delayed. News to come at noon. I break out my new issue of Esquire.
  • Noon – News to come at 12:30.
  • 12:30 p.m. – News to come at… wait, they just called my name to the desk. Well, they called up Nicholas Aden, whoever that is. I’ll miss my Eugene connection in Portland, so do I want to rebook? Why yes, that would be lovely. Just stick me on the 3:30 flight.
  • 1 p.m. – “Would the two passengers flying to Eugene please come to the ticket desk?” Vince Grippi (my WSU sports partner-in-crime) and I reschedule our travel to Seattle then Eugene. The plane leaves in 30 minutes, but wait, I need to uncheck my checked bag and carry it on. (Here’s where I get to throw away my toothpaste because it comes in a tube of more than 3.4 ounces.)
  • 3:05 p.m. – Land in Seattle with 15 minutes to get to our Eugene flight. The WSU basketball team is on it, and Vince and I end up sitting in the row in front of Tony Bennett.
  • 4:10 p.m. – Finally land in Eugene. What would be a 1 1/2-hour direct flight from Spokane to Eugene has become a daylong fracas. At least my hotel has $2 toothpaste.

Anyway, I was frustrated with Horizon Airlines today, if you can’t tell. I’ll stop complaining and let you get on with your life (ha, that’s supposing somebody has read this far). Tomorrow I’m off to Corvallis (45 minutes north) for the Oregon State game.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looks like a good start. Give ’em hell and godspeed tomorrow.

Comment by jonesdaily

Hey…. welcome to WordPress!

I love Horizon Air… at least they serve free booze. Tell me they gave you some!

Ingrid

Comment by barrentine




Leave a Reply

